Why? How? Does it feel like spring time

It’s January 8th right?

It doesn’t feel that way.

Yesterday I went to a rooftop bar for an afternoon glass of wine.

We went to Birreria which is on top of Eataly, Mario Batali’s newest addition to the flatiron district. It was packed! They still had the heat lamps on but it really wasn’t necessary.

How crazy!

Even though it feels like springtime, I’m still in winter mode. So today I made some soup to help warm me up when things get back to normal.

Chicken Rotini Soup with Spinach

  • 4 frozen chicken breasts (defrosted)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/3 C apple cider vinegar
  • S & P to taste
  • Rosemary
  • 4 C Vegetable Stock (could use chicken stock but this was all I had)
  • 1 C water
  • Whole Wheat Rotini Pasta
  • Baby Spinach / Kale

I used the crockpot to cook the chicken so that it would end up being basically pulled chicken. Into the crockpot I put 4 defrosted chicken breasts, the water, ac vinegar, S&P, and Rosemary. I cooked this on high for about 5 hours and then took them out to cool.

In a saucepan, boil vegetable stock and 1 C water and then add in the pasta.

Let this cook until tender, about 10 minutes and then add in the chicken and spinach.

Season with salt and pepper if necessary.

2 thoughts on “Why? How? Does it feel like spring time

  1. Pingback: Monday Musings | Nutmegger

Comments are closed.