Add more ~ing to you life

Do you ever feel like there is something missing from your life?

Do you find yourself sitting and watching other people laugh or kiss, tell a joke or tell a story, and wonder, are they really that happy? Or is it all just a mirage?

I started this blog about 2 years ago, because I did feel like something was missing. Whether it was some sort of balance or some sort of release or some sort of activity, I’m not sure. I think I’m still searching. Actually, I know I still am. And the fact that I’m willing to admit that I think is the most significant part about my search. I’m aware that I could feel more comfortable in my own skin, I’m just not sure where it all stems from just yet.

My health and wellness coach who I have been seeing for the past few months thought that meditation could be an activity that might help me to start the search within my inner self. Meditation does not come easy to a person like me who’s mind is going 100 miles an hour all the time. (ADD? Overachievement? Too much coffee? Who knows). She recommended some guided meditations to get me started, specifically those of a beautiful and empowered woman in New York, Gabrielle Bernstein. Gabby B does a lot of group sessions as well as online vlogs to get you more in tune with your inner beauty and ready to let some things go. Check her out at gabbyb.tv if you get a chance!

 Turns out Gabby was giving a speech in New York on friday night called Experience Life. I was all in.

I walked into this Church on 2nd Avenue, alone, on Friday at 7 pm. Visions of Charlotte York at a dating seminar were dancing in my head. What was I doing here??

But the minute Gabby came onto the stage and started speaking, I was hooked. She really does have a presence and she kept me interested and engaged for the entire 2 hours. I don’t want to share her stories here because she does such a better job of getting to the point, but if you get a chance, the speech will be on her website in the next few days I beleive. I’ll post a link when it shows up.

 

What I got from this lecture were new tools to check in on my ego through each day and witness the decisions I was making. Is this something I really want to do. Is this going to send more love or more fear into the world. Am I being authentic right now – with this action – in this moment.

Becoming the golden buddha :)

I think it is so important to really check in with yourself and understand why you are making the choices that you’re making and then seeing how you could better this situation. For me, I struggle with a lot of things. One of them is the idea that I am underqualified or trying to reach for this higher social/economic situation. Why am I not making a million dollars. Why don’t I have a corner office. Why aren’t I at a top rated firm. These are situations that I need to work through and get to the bottom of.

It’s different for everyone. But the tools we use to address them, can all be the same.

I really encourage you to check out some of Gabby’s vlogs and tell me what you think! Maybe you think she’s full of hot air or phony. Or maybe you might find them truly empowering.

**************

After the speech on friday I met up with two girlfriends for a glass of wine and some late night snacks before hitting the hay. Saturday was made up of relaxing and shopping in brooklyn along with some quality eats

Getting ready for the giants game right now by making meatballs!!!

Recipe to come!

 

