Step into the Detox

Okay so I’m not really detoxing, so much as adding back some much-needed nutrition into my life. Before winter began I was in a pretty regimented schedule regarding daily workouts and healthy/”good-for-me” foods. As much as I tried to deter, my free will gave in come Thanksgiving, and I just don’t think I really recovered. Case in point, I made some darn good smoothies for breakfast following some sweaty morning workouts, and when my blender showed a few signs of old age, I put it into retirement.

Well since I’m feeling the need to give myself a second chance and to get the wheels spinning again, I figured that I could offer the same amount of compassion and empathy to my mother’s hand-me-down blender. Alas, if you would have walked into my apartment around 5 pm on Sunday, you would have seen me in socked tippy-toes standing on my kitchen counter reaching far and wide to the abiss that is the top of my cabinet unit. The blender has been revived and after a good scrub-down I put his engines to work this morning to see what he was made of.

While describing this I kind of feel like I’m in the movie Herbie Fully Loaded where Lindsay Lohan takes a broken down car and fixes it up for racing, but the car has a mind of its own. My blender clearly did not want to disappoint and chopped up those frozen bits of fruit and ice like it never had before.

I guess maybe it just needed a rest, as did I during the winter months. Now, both of us are back on our feet and ready and raring to go in full force.

Berry Smoothie

1 Scoop Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (TJs purchase)

1 cup of frozen berry medley

1/2 frozen banana

2 massive handfuls of spinach leaves

1/2 cup of Almond Milk

Place all ingredients into your trusty blender and blend until smooth.

*this was a little thicker than I would have typically gone for. To make thinner, try adding less protein powder and less banana.*

