Cheer up Sunshine

Here is a below the waist shot of me walking into my building this morning:

And no, those were not originally two-toned pants. Monday mornings, coming into work, in the pouring rain, and then sitting with a heater between your feet for the next 2 hours to dry off the rain-soaked fabric from your legs does not a happy-camper make.

Ways to cheer up..?

Yummy Coconut and Carob Cookies!

My friend Jen sent me this recipe a few months ago and the first time I made it they turned out awesome!

Disclaimer: This time, I think that because I used steel cut oats and didn’t grind them up as finely as before, they were a little trickier to try to roll into balls and keep that way. Nevertheless, the taste is there and slightly adapted from the original. Enjoy!

Coconut and Carob Cookies (~ 101 cal each)

  • 1-3/4 cups raw walnuts
  • 3/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 package vegan carob chips (I used Sunspire)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

Instructions In a food processor, blend together the oats and walnuts until well incorporated. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients. First combine the walnut-oat mixture with the agave, almond butter, and vanilla extract. Then add everything else. Line a cookie sheet wax paper. Drop heaping tablespoons onto the sheet (really PUSH the ingredients into the tablespoon and then press down on them once on the sheet to flatten slightly). Refrigerate for a few hours to harden. Or just eat like dough.

Let me know if you make some and how they turn out!

One thought on “Cheer up Sunshine

Comments are closed.