tomato tomato

I want a garden.

I want a practical garden. Only problem is I was born without a green thumb, and with less than a distinct desire to get on my hands and needs and plant seeds in soil…

But maybe a garden that provided me with delicious food and saved me precious money? Now that I might have a distinct desire to start building.

Being home for labor day weekend got these thoughts swirling in my head when I headed to the garden with my mom and picked some fresh, juicy, plump cherry tomatoes from the vines in our yard. There were so many!! Seeing as how I still like to consider myself a struggling college student (despite the fact that I have been in the working world for 3 years) I was definitely planning on returning to my lowly apartment with my fair share of groceries – fresh produce included hopefully.

A recipe in the paper caught our eye, but not before I popped a few of those cherry tomatoes into my mouth. Pasta with roasted cherry tomatoes.

2 pints of cherry tomatoes, 1/4 cup minced garlic, pinch of sea salt, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and some more FRESH oregano (from the garden again!) mixed together and back in the oven at 450 degrees – and 10 min later you’ve got yourself a concoction of delish roasted cherry tomatoes.

Throw them into pasta, mix them in a salad, puree them in a blender..

 or just pop em like candy.

Who knew a garden could be so sweet.

Happy Labor Day!

