Snickerdoodle-ing

If you live in NY or if you ever plan on visiting, one recommendation that I have for you (among many others that I have mentioned on this blog) is to visit my favorite bakery, Babycakes. Babycakes is the friggin cutest little vegan bakery in the Lower East Side. They make vegan or gluten-free muffins, cookie sandwiches, cupcakes, donuts…and the owner Erin McKenna is my alter-ego in another life. I would walk up to that bakery any day and ask for a job as a dish washer, if I didn’t have a rent i could barely afford as is and if I didn’t think I’d gain 100 lbs licking frosting off my fingers all day. Actually..that might be worth it…

Erin McKenna also recently put out a cookbook – Babycakes: Gluten Free Vegan Recipes from Donuts to Snickerdoodles.

These snickerdoodles were roommate tested and non-vegan approved. I made a few changes since I couldn’t find some of the ingredients but [miraculously] they turned out delicious, so enjoy!

SNICKERDOODLES

(adapted from the babycakes cookbook)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups plus 1/2 cup vegan sugar (I used organic brown sugar)
  • 3 T ground cinnamon
  • 2 c rice flour (I used gluten free all-purpose flour)
  • 1/4 c ground flax meal
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t xanthum gum
  • 1 t salt
  • 3/4 c plus 2 T coconut oil
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 T vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line two baking dishes with wax paper.
In a small bowl, whisk together 1/2 cup sugar and  2 T of cinnamon. Set aside
In a larger bowl, whisk together 1 1/3 cup sugar, flour, flax, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt and left over cinnamon. Then add the wet ingredients and mix well with a spatula (coconut oil, applesauce, and vanilla). Cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator for an hour.
Once it has set for 1 hour, roll dough into balls (1 t size) and then roll them in the cinnamon and sugar you had whisked together earlier and set aside. Place about 1 inch apart on the baking sheets and press down with a fork gently.
Place in the pre-heated oven and bake for 7 minutes. ONce 7 minutes is up, turn the baking sheet in the oven and bake for another 7 minutes, or until the edges start to look crispy.
Take out and let fully cool. I sprinkled a little extra cinnamon and sugar mixture on the top since I had so much left over.
One thought on “Snickerdoodle-ing

  1. Pingback: All together now | Nutmegger

Comments are closed.