All together now

Last night I skipped home from work, dreaming about the delicious squash that was sitting in my fridge just begging to be cut, thrown in the oven and then picked apart to create Spaghetti Squash!!! I was so excited.

Over vacation this past weekend in Nantucket, D and I went to Black Eyed Susan’s for dinner. It was BYOB – easy choice 😉

Typically, I don’t go for the specials, especially after D informed me (all-knowledgable chef that he is) that he read “specials” is really code for “this food is about to go bad so lets offer it up at a deal”. YIKES. Still, the specials that night sounded soo friggin delish so I ordered the Spaghetti Squash entree with lobster and limencello. Holy bageezus this could easily go down as my favorite meal of all time (right behind the stuffed french toast from La Isla – If you haven’t been. GO).

I couldn’t wait to come home and re-create the dish! While speaking to good ol’ mom on the phone I conveyed my enthusiasm for my nightly plans **no judgement zone for my idea of a great night for a 25 year old** and mentioned “I picked up a butternut squash the other day to make into spaghetti” (!!).

Yes folks. A butternut squash. Dear ol’ mom wasn’t on the top of my list when she politely informed me that I needed a spaghetti squash to make spaghetti squash. WHAT?!

Good Lord.

I refused to be steered away from the kitchen, and instead proceeded to chop, bake, boil and stir the night away. Enter:

 Brown Rice. (boiled 2 cups water to 1 cup dry rice. Stir Occasionally).

Red Swiss Chard. (eaten raw. Chopped up stems into small pieces and then rolled the leaves into tubes and slices.)

Butternut Squash. (chopped squash in half and rubbed both sides with cinnamon and sugar left over from making Snickerdoodles the other night. Baked at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes or until I could stick a fork through easily.)

All together now!

Yes that is my half eaten lunch with a little olive oil drizzle (s+p) on top.

Morale of the story: read instructions carefully. Or just use common sense  – whatever floats your boat 😉

Kitchen Conundrum:  how do I get the butternut squash cubes out of the skin after it is done baking?!

I literally butchered this thing trying to get the skin off. Does anyone have any tricks??

**********************

Workout (inspired by PBFingers)

2 miles run followed by Supersets of 3 X 15 repetitions

1. incline chest press / rows

2. tricep extensions / chest press

3. PB shoulder move / push ups

4. tricep pull downs

5. kettle bell swings / bicep curls

6. abs

 

