Long Awaited Granola recipe

I would wholeheartedly consider myself to be an avid granola lover. That is why you will hardly ever find it in my apartment. I could eat bags and containers and bowls of this stuff. Plain, mixed with yogurt for breakfast, as a topping on ice cream for dessert, for dinner?! There is no shortage of what this amazing food can do.

I went home the other weekend to take care of my cute puppies (!!)

There’s pretty much nothing going on at home. Although having a car does make live 1 million times easier and you can go from one place to the next so quickly! Revolutionary 😉

Having a car plus lots of time on my hands left me with only one thing to do … Bake!

Pulling together some ingredients I picked up at teh store and some typical pantry items from my mom’s kitchen, I whipped together some of this Coconut Granola that was delicious! (And messy)

As a granola expert, I do think this was some of the best salty / sweet combination that I have had. Let me know if you make it and how it tastes!

Peanut Butter Coconut Granola 

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3 T honey (I added a little bit extra to make sure that the oats would be coated)
  • 1 t coconut extract
  • 3 T peanut butter
  • 2 t kosher salt
  • Extra shredded coconut
Put peanut butter, coconut extract, and honey in a bowl and put in the microwave for 20 seconds (the goal is just to make it warm enough to mix it all together).
Mix together and add in the oats, salt and shredded coconut
Cover a baking pan with aluminum foil or wax paper (I sprayed mine with baking spray to make sure that nothing would stick) and spread the mixture evenly around.
*I added some additional shredded coconut to the top – because it tastes goooood*
Bake for 7-8 minutes, opening at 4 minutes to mix around so that it bakes evenly.
note: the salt in this recipe makes a MAJOR difference. I’m a sucker for the salty sweet combo and this recipe definitely has it!
