Spinach for Breakfast

Remember when your mom would tell you that you couldn’t leave the table until you finished your vegetables? That isn’t the case in my house first of all because I house them. Sauteed brussel sprouts with maple syrup. Roasted green beans with feta and almonds. They basically taste like candy 🙂

However when it comes to be requesting spinach, romaine, celery, an apple, pear and banana for my bfast combination (!) my mom looks a little confused.

I recently finished reading Kimberly Snyder’s book The Beauty Detox Solution.

(source)

While I’m not going to go into too much detail, as this would turn into an essay instead of a blog post, this book could have potentially changed my life in the way that I eat food and the order of which I put things into my body. Unfortunately, it’s a little hard to keep up with, especially since I travel for work so frequently. One thing that Kimberly recommends, and emphasizes more than anything else in her book, is to start your morning off with a Glowing Green Smoothie, or Glowing Green Juice. Basically, getting a big heaping portion of vegetables into your body first!

I travel for work, as I have mentioned before, and while I have considered throwing a magic bullet into my suitcase before…

(source)

It just isn’t feasible for some trips. (How do you explain that to airport security!)

So on my quest to find green juice in every town that I go to in the US, I have had my fair share of hits and misses. One of my new found surprises is that I found fresh green juice at Penn Station!

Penn Station, in case you are unaware, is a the train station in new york that services New Jersey, Philadelphia, and the Jersey shore lines. More specifically, Penn Station is chock full of homeless people and walk of shamers. It’s less than glamourous. So stumbling upon green juice at a Planet Smoothie (it is still Penn Station) was a miracle in itself.

When I travel for work from Penn Station once a week, I can easily ask for a spinach, celery, ginger, lemon, and apple juice for breakfast, hop on the train, and ignore the confused stairs from businessmen looking at my radioactive looking green glass.

