Cake Balls! The Birthday Kind

The past 24 hours I have felt like a woman with one of those wind up machines in her back. Some moments rushing around frantic and confused as to why and how I have managed to fit so many things into one day; Other times completely relaxing with my feet up on the coach trying to catch another breath.

I got home from PA yesterday around 5 pm and after lugging suitcase (which somehow gained 5 lbs during the week) up my 5 flights of stairs, I sprinted back down them again to hit up Gristedes grocery store for some needed items. This weekend happens to be one of my best friends and my boyfriends birthday! Which is great because it means lots of play time, fun activities, celebrations, and baked goods. The downside is, I have somehow convinced myself that those baked goods are coming from my kitchen..hmm.

After a quick once-over in my 5×5 kitchen, I made a list of things I needed and rushed to pick them up. I made cake balls for Liz’s birthday last year, and I think they were a hit šŸ˜‰ so I figured, why ruin a bad thing!? This year, we’re going for red velvet. Yes. That’s right.

If you haven’t heard of cake balls, Bakerella took this recipe to new heights and makes these creations into seriously artistic pieces.

Bee Cake Pops(source)

Burger Bites

I can hardly roll mine into spheres.

Baby steps folks. Baby steps.

I picked up my missing ingredients, rushed home, and decided that I could bake a cake in the 30 minute window I had before I had to meet some co-workers for a Happy hour at 6:30. Enter, crazy wind up woman event #1.

I threw in the cake mix, 3 eggs, vegetable oil and water to a bowl, and started mixing. poured the mixture in a dish and baked.

The color of this cake is so vibrant and red, I quickly cleaned my dishes after thinking that my roommates might suspect I stabbed myself with a rubber spatula and ran off bleeding to death if I left them..

While the cake baked I relaxed and munched on some frozen grapes but the minute that timer went off I took that glass dish, threw it in the fridge and hightailed my butt up to The Campbell Apartment for a little R&R with some co-workers. yesyes, upon leaving I did think about whether the dish would crack since I had taken it from extreme heat to cooler temperatures, but i was already half way to grand central and couldn’t be bothered with minor details like broken glass (luckily, there were no damages).

After hh I ran (literally) back home around 10:30 pm and began Crazy Lady part #2 of the night. Making the ball mixture. I made about 40 of these little suckersĀ  into some not so smooth spheres and put them in the fridge to harden overnight. The tricky part was about to come since I had to be at work this morning at 9 and going straight to my friends birthday after work. When to dip them in chocolate!??

Enter Crazy Lady part #3 and I woke up at 5 am to melt chocolate morsels and dip cake balls and make some beautiful truffels.

I finished around 6 am and then hit the hay for an additional hour and a half of glorious sleep. These cake balls better be worth it…sheeesh

Happy Birthday Liz!!!

Red Velvet Cake Balls

  • 1 red velvet cake mix and ingredients included on box (3 eggs, ~1 c vegetable oil)
  • Cream Cheese frosting
  • Chocolate discs/morsels/bark (I used dark chocolate morsels but use whatever you would like)

Bake cake according to directions on the package.

Once the cake is done and it has been taken out of the oven, let it cool COMPLETELY. (I actually think thatĀ because I threw mine in the fridge instead of cooling down over time, thisĀ changed the texture. I dont recommend it).Ā 

Once fully cooled down, crumble the full cake into a very large bowl. Mix with the container of cream cheese frosting. Ā Take the mixture and roll into spheres. These should be golf ball sized about. Put them in a dish or on a cookie tray, and place in the fridge for a few hours. You can also put them in the freezer to speed up this process, but don’t make them frozen.

Once cooled (I waited about 6 hours) melt chocolate into a bowl according to the directions on the package. I sometimes have trouble with this part but a few tricks in order to make sure that the chocolate doesn’t get cool and harden are to only do about a cup of chocolate at a time and make sure to put in the microwave for 45 seconds, and then 15 second intervals so that it doesn’t burn. I also found that by adding a tsp of vegetable oil to the chocolate will make it more liquidy and easier to spread.

Take each ball and roll it in the chocolate. try to cover each side and not smush it – be gentle! I found that the balls are easier to maneuver when they are cold (please don’t read in to this…) so I will sometimes place the tray into the freezer while I am waiting for the chocolate to melt.

Place back on the tray and when done, put them in the fridge to harden. You can also add sprinkles, designs, etc. when the chocolate is wet. Be creative!

These deserts are amazingly addictive, so just don’t pop them like frozen grapes. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Cake Balls! The Birthday Kind

Comments are closed.