Junk-It

I’m really using these birthdays this weekend as an excuse to lick cake batter out of the bowl and snack on leftover chocolate kisses. No lie. More on that later.

Last night I went to see the play Sleep No More for my girlfriend’s birthday. This is an interactive theatrical performance of Shakespeare’s Macbeth where you are literally a part of the play. Chasing after the actors as the go from room to room in this abandoned hotel trying to figure out the storylines and how they all interact; everyone, except the actors, wears the same mask so you are all unknown to one another, and there is no talking. It really was incredibly interesting and confusing all at the same time. Everyone has a different experience based on which actors you followed and which scenes you saw. Totally recommend it if you happen to be in New York!

Beforehand we had gone to dinner at Il Bastardo in Chelsea for free! I tell ya there is nothing like a free meal 🙂 And I managed to bring in a doggie bag of those red velvet cake balls for my friend. I was not about to keep all 40 of those things in my house!

But today was another very special birthday – D turned 26 and we started celebrating the right way. At midnight last night. I had a few surprises for him laid out…

The kid has been talking nonstop (non. stop.) about getting one those folding bikes. Have you ever seen one?? The concept is pretty cool but I just wasn’t convinced he would actually use it, and plus the idea of riding a bike in NY scares the bageezus outta me!! However, my friend had bought one of these about a year ago and never ended up using it so she offered it up, which rocks. Again, nothing like a free gift 🙂

The bike definitely needs some work but I put some pretty litttle streamers on it that said Happy Birthday and wheeled carried it in (the chain was basically rusted solid) like it was Christmas Morning. Yes yes I am very creative, I know.

Along with the bike were two tickets to the Jets v Pats game tomorrow night (Go Jets!!). Yes yes I am very generous, I know.

We are heading to Hecho en Dumbo tonight for a birthday dinner and treating ourselves to the Chef’s table. The menu looks insane so I am incredibly pumped as I sit here with my rollers on and nails drying. Girl’s gotta try to look pretty at least a few times a year, am I right?! I’m hoping that we skimp a little on dessert  though because I think my last and final gift  to the boy is going to be his favorite. The Junk-it Dessert.

I got this recipe from D’s mom the other week because he has repeatedly told me that it is a family recipe that is his absolute, to-die-for, favorite thing in the world. So of course I had to attempt it! Yes I am very thoughtful, I know.

If you like butter, sugar, and raspberries, I think you will like this dessert.

Happy Birthday D$$!!! Wear a helmet 🙂

The Junk-It Dessert

  • 1-1/2 Cup Flour
  • 3 Sticks Soft Butter
  • 2 Tbsp. Sugar
  • 2 Cups Powder Sugar
  • 8 Oz. Cream Cheese
  • 1 Cup Chopped Walnuts
  • 3 oz. Raspberry Jello
  • 1 Container of “Cool Whip”
  • Two 10-oz. Frozen Raspberries

Part 1 ~ Crust

  • Grease 9”x13” pan
  • In a bowl, mix together 1-1/2 cups flour, 2 sticks of butter and 2 tbsp. of sugar
  • Pat this mixture into the greased baking pan as first layer
  • Bake at 350 Degrees for 30 minutes
  • Let cool in the refrigerator for approx. 45 minutes

Part 2 ~ Cream Cheese Mixture

  • Mix one stick of butter, two cups of powder sugar, and 8 oz. of cream cheese together in bowl
  • Once mixed, put this mixture over the cooled crust you made in Part 1 ~ make sure the crust is cool
  • Sprinkle one cup of chopped walnuts over this mixture

Part 3 ~ Raspberry Jello Mixture

  • Dissolve 3 oz. of raspberry jello in 1 cup of boiling water
  • Add two 10 oz. frozen raspberries ~ thawed and crushed
  • Place this mixture in refrigerator until the jello sets
  • Once the jello sets, spread this raspberry mixture on top of the middle cream cheese layer **I did this part wrong and forgot to add the raspberries but just mixed it together in the end. No problems.

Cool Whip Topping

  • Add a thin layer of cool whip on top of the jello mixture, or:
  • Add a dab of Cool Whip to each individual piece, or
  • Ask guests whether they do or don’t want this extra cool whip topping ~ it is just as good without it
