Old and New

Yesterday was a pretty relaxed day as I worked from home. It’s okay, you can be jealous.

I ran to the grocery store that morning so that I could make sure I had some eats on hand for bfast, lunch, and dinner, and the star of the day turned out to be none other than a lonely yam. All of these Thanksgiving recipes recently have left me wit ha serious hankering for sweet potatoes! Whipped, mashed, baked w. marshmellows, in a pie, or as I opted for yesterday, sliced into wedges and roasted. I sliced the yam into pretty thick wedges, tossed in Olive Oil, doused sprinkled   in salt and pepper and popped them in the oven for 40 minutes at 400 degrees.

With a little spinach and soba noodles leftover from the other days lunch, it made a perfect meal.

 

After work was done for the day I curled up and started re-reading a book that made a huge impact on the way I thought about food, The Beauty Detox Diet by Kimberly Snyder. I’m re-reading this book to see if I can adapt a few of the rules that go along with food combining into my daily diet. For example, fruit should be eaten on an empty stomach and no proteins and starches combined, etc.

Starting tomorrow so I’ll let you know how it goes! Has anyone else read this book or one like it? What are your thoughts?

