Quick and Dirty Sauce

Hold your horses people…

That title is not dirty. Get your heads out of the mud.

In fact, it is really just an incredibly accurate description of the sauce that I threw together this morning to top off my lunch for the day. I had made some buckwheat soba noodles the other night so I planned on cutting up 1 tomato and putting in handfuls of spinach to make a nice little pasta. Please excuse the absolute randomness of this dish as my ultimate goal was really to clean out my refrigerator of perishables prior to leaving for Thanksgiving this week. I refuse to let good food go bad!

The only thing missing was the sauce.

I received this recipe from myhealth & wellness coach, Marissa, whom I have been seeing for a few weeks now as something super simple that I could whip up and really spice up a meal. You can definitely make some substitutions in there depending on what you have but give it a try and let me know if you like it! [I apologize for the creepy photo in advance – this is why I eat lunch alone 😉 ]

Simple Tahini Sauce

  • 1 inch peeled and diced ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves (peeled and diced)
  • 2 tablespoons of tamari or soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons of tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure maple syrup
  • the juice of 1/2 a lemon (I used a lime)
  • dash of cayenne pepper

Throw ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend. If it’s too thick add a little water and blend again (I added about a 1/4 cup of water)

