And I’m out of here

I love New York, and I love spending time with my friends and boyfriend, don’t get me wrong. But man, am I excited to get on outta here and head home! I can’t wait to head home to mom-cooked meals, crazy puppies, my darling brother šŸ˜‰ and thanksgiving food! (By the way, when I did get home I confirmed sweet potatoes on the menu immediately. Originally, the madre was not going to make them but I put a stop to the fast. ASAP.)

While I was excited to get home, it was not before a delicious send off meal in Hoboken with the bf. Gotta love a guy that cooks šŸ˜‰

Originally, D had emailed me during the day with a recipe for Giada’s Chicken Saltimbocca. “Looks great!” I responded, “But could you just make mine without the cheese portion?? Thaaaanks.” Well, little did I know that Saltimbocca is actually chicken rolled around cheese and and some other goodies – so my sans cheese request was not a realistic option. I believe that most chefs dislike altering recipes dramatically because they have carefully and cleverly thought out all of the components to pair together. Long story short, D changed the “menu”, out of frustration most likely. Oops!

Our final meal was absolutely perfect though. Filling, light, and super super tasty. A little dash of this spice..

and everything was right in the world.

Chicken Stir Fry (serves 2)

2 chicken cutlets

zuccini, squash, carrots, peppers (throw in whatever vegetables you have in the house – this is what we had)

Salt, pepper, seasoning

Teriyaki sauce

1 1/2 cup Brown rice

Start by covering the two chicken cutlets in salt, pepper, and whichever seasoning you would like. The one we chose had a bit of a kick to it, which was killer! Heat up some olive oil in a pan and put the chicken in for about 10 minutes, or until it looks done.

Take out of the pan and let them sit for a few minutes. This will help to keep all the juices inside.

Pour the teriyaki sauce into the hot pan (Sorry I didn’t measure it out, but it was enough to coat the vegetables). Throw in all of your vegetables and let them simmer. Especially if you have some more thickly cut veggies, you’ll want to let those cook longer.

While the vegetables are simmering, cut up your chicken cutlets into chunks or slivers. However you would like. THen add to the stove and toss in the stirfry mixture.

Voila! You are done. Super fast, refreshing and delicious!

 

One thought on “And I’m out of here

Comments are closed.