Recovery

Sometimes, it’s important to let your body rest.

While I’m a full believer in pushing yourself in certain situations, whether its physically or mentally, sometimes you can just tell you need a break.

My calves were kiiiiling after yesterday’s Insanity workout, but I’m still going to try and keep up the 3-5 times a week routine so I opted for the Cardio Recovery dvd.

In the comfort of my hotel room 🙂

It was just what I needed to work up a little sweat, a little burn, and a whole lotta oxygen.

**************************

Day 1 Organic Avenue Juice Cleanse

I’ve only done 1 juice cleanse before, Cooler Cleanse, and so far Organic Avenue is drastically different.

Today started with an Aloe Vera Elixir.

Aloe vera juice is known to help to detoxify the body and cleanse the colon. The detoxification properties of the juice also work to detoxify the blood stream. It is also said that aloe vera juice could benefit a person with intestinal or stomach problems.

While I can appreciate what Aloe vera juice might do for the body, this tasted like s**t.

~10 am things got much better with some Coconut Water. Coconut water contains organic compounds possessing healthy growth promoting properties that have been known to help: Keep the body cool and at the proper temperature, Orally re-hydrate your body, it is an all natural isotonic beverage, Carry nutrients and oxygen to cells, Naturally replenish your body’s fluids after exercising, Raise your metabolism, Promote weight loss, Boost your immune system, Detoxify and fight viruses, Cleanse your digestive tract, Control diabetes, Aid your body in fighting viruses that cause the flu, herpes, and AIDS, Balance your PH and reduce risk of cancer, Treat kidney and urethral stones, and Boost poor circulation.

At 12:30 I had drink 3, The Pear Juice. Pears are often recommended as a hypo-allergenic fruit that is high in fiber but less likely to produce adverse reactions. Pear juice is safe to be introduced to infants as they are mild, yet healthful.

By the time this drink was done I was pretty full. I’d been trying to have a glass or two of water in between drinks so things were definitely catching up with me. Not to mention I had to pee every, mm, 30 min or so.

~2 pm I had the Turmeric Tonic. Kinda of spicy but not terrible. Since I was full, I only really finished half.

~4 pm I had the Carrot Juice which was delicious. Many people consider drinking carrot juice one of the healthiest lifestyle choices possible. Carrot juice is known for beta carotene which gives the body Vitamin A, B Vitamins, Vitamin E and many minerals. The health benefits of drinking carrot juice are thought to be good prenatal health, eyesight, bones and teeth, liver and nails, skin and hair as well as helping in cancer prevention.

Carrots are nature’s candy of course 😉

When I got back home around 6 pm, I had the Greens Love Coco drink which was made of coconut water, kale, spinach, and celery. It wasn’t bad, but the coconut water definitely adds a different taste to it. Again, I only had half.

And now, I am sipping on a little Cashew Hemp Milk which just tastes like a cinnamon smoothie. (I remembered the cashew nut milk as being my favorite in the other clenase as well – dang sweet tooth I guess).

Overall I still have a surprising amount of energy for having no caffeine and only juice today! Go Figure.

I’m hoping this energy will still be there tomorrow to make it through the day! Hitting the hay early ladies and gents.

have you ever done a juice cleanse before? what were your feelings about it?

 

4 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. I’ve never done a juice cleanse. I’m nervous about them because I’m not really a juice fan, and I’m always starving!! Haha. Way to keep up the Insanity!

    • Honestly this morning I was thinking oh crap another day? But I’m surprisingly full throughout the day and you don’t have the same hunger pains that you do when you’re eating food. Actually, there are hardly any at all – and I could eat all day 🙂

Comments are closed.