Moments

I saw the Vow last night. In case you haven’t seen it yet, the character Channing Tatum plays in the beginning focuses on moments and how particular moments can impact your life so insignificantly or so dramatically – and it all happens so fast.

This morning I had thought about what I was going to write a blog post on…

This article I read on powdered greens vs. real vegetables?

The recipe I made this weekend for truffled popcorn?

A recipe for homemade Caesar dressing that D and I made on Friday? Or my decadent brunch at Elmo on Sunday?

And then I got a call from my mom saying that my brother was in the hospital…

…and the idea of writing about my new favorite beauty products just dissolved. Along with my composure.

It’s amazing how quickly things can change for you in one brief moment. If you think of anything today, just remember this and know that no one is invincible and while you shouldn’t live in fear of bad things happening, you should live in appreciation for everything you have.

******************************

Update: My brother is shaping up to be just fine. He swallowed a chicken bone (?? I don’t know how you do that but he did) and it got lodged in his esophagus. He had to be transported to the University of Maryland Medical Center for an endoscopy and upon removing the severely lodged and large bone, the doctors thought they punctured the esophagus. I had immediate thoughts of damaged vocal cords (goes to show what I know about the human body), but he could talk just fine. The issue was that if they did indeed puncture the esophagus he would have to go in for an immediate surgery. If this holes could not be repaired, he would be eating out of a tube from now on. Luckily, tests came back showing that they did not in fact puncture the esophagus and he is happily sipping on jello in the hospital now thanking his lucky stars that he will not be attached to a tube for the rest of his life. I can’t tell you how scared I was at the thought of my little brother being hurt in any way and I have to say this was a first for me having someone I am so close to be in the hospital. It really puts things into perspective, especially considering the minute things I had been worrying about just a few minutes earlier. Life is an interesting thing…

2 thoughts on “Moments

Comments are closed.