Beach Breakfast

I woke up this morning and began again what I think will be a pretty regular routine here while I’m down in St. Johns.

Up at 7, down to the gym for an Insanity workout. By the way, I am on month 2 of Insanity and now forced to complete the “Max Interval” Cardio or plyometric dvds. They are absolutely killer and require me to huff, puff, and sweat my brains our for an hour. If you couldn’t tell, I am not following the program as rigorously as I was during Month 1, due to my Broad Street training, but hopefully still getting a good amount of stamina from the workouts.

When I came back to the house I was haaaangry 🙂

Luckily I had had my mom go out and pick up some spinach, bananas and stawberries yesterday so I was fully prepared for a …. green smoothie!!

 
I threw in water, some orange juice, strawberries and a frozen banana, followed by lots of spinach.
Lots of spinach.
My aunts blender is a WORLD of difference from mine at home so this was all whipped together in literally 3 minutes. It wasn’t too bad, but probably needed to be colder. I was pretty impressed based on the ingredients I had to work with.
St. John’s is really an interesting and beautiful place, but one thing that can be tricky is that NOTHING is grown on the island, except for one farm on the far end that has been working the land for 17 years (or so our waiter last night told us). Everything, including water, is brought in from St. Thomas or other areas, so not only is it rare, it is expensive. So much so that my mom brought some cheese, coffee and avocados from home. Sheesh.
However, there is plenty of fresh fish 🙂 which I think is going to help make up my lunch later..
Check in with you soon! Off to the beach….
4 thoughts on “Beach Breakfast

  1. Pingback: St. Johns – Yr 3 Recap | Nutmegger

Comments are closed.